Monday, September 01, 2008

ROCK ON!!

Forget those hyper sentimental scenes, heroes performing super natural stunts.. here's a movie that's subtle yet really good.Indian movies, be it the Bollywood,Tollywood or Kollywood are more or less formula based movies.The formula being 3 fights,6 songs mixed with a good dose of maa-bap/behan senti that would definitely make you weep like a school kid.'Rock On' stands out as a movie that's really close to reality without going overboard as most of the other movies.

The movie is about four guys and their love for music,their dreams and their band.Farhan Akthar who has produced/directed some good movies,has done a good job and portrayed the i-banker who has lost the enthu for life very aptly.Arjun Rampal has come up with what is being touted as his best performance to date and the other cast have also put up a good show.The movie stands out of the way the plot moves,screenplay has been terrific and so is the music.Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy definitely deserve some credit since a part of the movie's success could be attributed to the music.Its very well known that these guys are good at this genre as was evident in their show during Saarang 2007,and they truly 'ROCK'ED!Background score was equally good..and the scene just before the interval stands out for me in this regard.I don't want to go into any further details.But its definitely a watchable movie and is worth the money.

Rock On deserves credit because of the audacity to bring out such a movie and its really nice to see that such movies are being run to packed houses.Indian movies are mostly hero based unlike the plot based Hollywood movies.And this movie is a huge deviation from normal in this regard,the movie being the first for the protagonist and the story definitely a far cry from the usual love-shaadi etc stories.Sadly,In India stories are written bearing in mind a particular hero and his image.Stars too prefer to do the formula based movies and keep churning those box office collections year after year.Hence,there is a dearth of quality story based movies.Movies like this one and Gamyam (Telugu) have proved that a good story would always be a hit.. sans any big hero and its movies like these that get the audience to the theatres,not the formula based ones,which are mostly watched on DVD.So it would be nice to see more of such movies often.

Friday, April 04, 2008

ICL Vs IPL ??

IPL seems to be the buzz word these days.
Lalit Modi promoted Indian Premier League,backed by the BCCI has caught the attention of cricket followers worldwide with its fat(and exorbitant)auction prices and unprecedented amount of money thats being pumped in.The league is spread over 44 days with players divided into 8 teams and promises a whole new brand of cricket and entertainment(or rather crickentertainment).

On the other hand is the Essel group promoted ICL (Indian Cricket League) branded as a rebel league by the BCCI.This league was started prior to the IPL and there were no T20 leagues back then.It also has 8 teams similar to the IPL minus the big sponsors/ad revenues.Saying that ICL is similar to IPL is a mistake,ICL was started a year back and successfully organized the tourney twice.In fact, I would say IPL is similar to ICL.Its a completely legal league just like any other league/county,Only that BCCI doesn't have a say in any issues.BCCI considered this as a threat to their position/power and promptly labeled the league as rebel league and banned any players and officials associated with the league.Also,Some cricketing bodies have to toe the line reluctantly and comply with the BCCI's decree that any player associated with ICL should be banned,and they know that they are doing a mistake.

In fact only after Dhoni and his team won the T20 World cup, BCCI started organizing T20 matches. Prior to that there were hardly any T20 matches organized,except may be a very few.Probably the inaugural T20 tournament has prompted the BCCI to cash in on the viewer ship and popularity of the shortest version of the game.Though its good to capitalize on the opportunities,the same can't be said on the way they treated the ICL.Cricket grounds under the BCCI were not given for the ICL and in fact they had to organize the tournament in Railway grounds and other venues.

I have watched some of the ICL matches and am yet to watch IPL.Having seen ICL,i feel that the tournament is decently organized and the teams are good.Matches are entertaining and are on par with the other T20 internationals if not more.The teams are balanced and some matches were really entertaining/good.Now the point is,Does BCCI,a non government organization,which is neither accountable to the Parliament nor the general public,have the right to ban some players on the reason that they are playing in ICL? Who and how can it ban players like Kapil dev who is considered to be an icon of Indian cricket? and when it does allow players to play in the other leagues apart from the Indian leagues like county cricket,why cant they be a part of the ICL?And why does a old fagot like sharad pawar and co get to run it?(GOD save cricket as Lallu is tipped to be the next BCCI chief).

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Too flat for a result !!

2 Days into the Test match -- 622 runs scored and only 10 wickets taken.

Bowlers had to toil all the day(s) long in the hot,muggy and sultry Chennai weather to get those wickets.There was absolutely nothing in the pitch for the bowlers.Nearly all the top order South African batsmen came to the party and now its the turn of their Indian counterparts to make merry of the bowlers.Its pathetic to look at the fast bowlers toil on such lifeless wickets and you can't help but sympathize with those poor souls running in hard and bending their backs to see those efforts go in vain.

Naturally the question that would come to everyone's mind would be.. why cant we have more sporting wickets.What's the point in playing on pitches that wouldn't provide any result? Not only would it decrease the already waining interest in test cricket, it also would drain the bowlers mentally and psychologically.

Everyone would like to see an even contest between the bat and the ball.You don't want teams to score some 500 odd runs or bowlers getting the other team cheaply.Its the tests where teams score about 300 that are normally very interesting.Ashes 2005 is a good example.But sadly it doesn't seem to be the case in India.Almost all of them are flat tracks which would assist spinners from the 4th day.Pitches for the Pak series were horrible and the Chennai pitch isn't much different.

Its interesting to note that almost all of recent Indian test victories have come on sporting/seaming wickets.Victories in Perth, Johannesburg etc were all on seaming tracks.Its understandable that the pitches were flat before,because the Indian pace department wasn't that equipped,but now we have some really good fast bowlers who are no less than their say Aussie or South African counterparts.Even then we don't get to see any seaming/sporting pitches.Since its the home team which calls the shots regarding the pitch,the only logical reason would be that the batsmen aren't comfortable playing on the seaming tracks.

I hope that they at least prepare some sporting pitches in the coming matches and we get to see some good test matches.

Tuesday, March 04, 2008

N reasons to hate Aussies

I have waited so long to come up with this post.It has been a long tour down-under and it has its share of memorable on field plays/incidents and many forgettable on field as well as off field controversies/fiascoes.On the whole,Indian team performed extremely well on this tour considering the hostile environment dished out for them by the Australian team, media and the general public.Winning the CB series was perhaps the icing on the cake.

This tour would have probably influenced many Indians who were Australian fans to change their view.We loved them for their professionalism and their commitment on the field.But the way they played and behaved in this tour has definitely left a very sour taste in the mouth of many Indian cricket fans.(many would be an understatement,may be every Indian fan hates them now)

Listed below are some of the incidents/behavior that would be sufficient to hate them for a long time:

1)The Monkey-Affair: This is a classic case of making a mountain out of a mole hill.Harbhajan was alleged that he racially abused Symonds calling him "monkey".It was evident that Symonds first had a go at Bhajji which was duly returned.Now everyone knows that Aussies use their foul mouths to good use.But when someone simply retorts they keep sulking..and they just cant take it.We can see this from the McGrath Vs Sarwan incident to the current monkey affair.

2) Now about the thing that simply none of us could comprehend,In a culture where words like monkey is a racial taunt, words like mother f*****,b******d etc aren't.Well i am not well aware about the culture,traditions and all but surely, now i know that Aussies have a different take from the rest of the world when it comes to racial slur.Probably words like the ones that have been mentioned above are an integral part of the Aussie culture,something that they use to address one another.

3)The Aussie media and the behavior of Aussie crowd: This is something thats simply abominable.Now that we have been subjected to such hostile treatment,i wouldn't be surprised to see the Indian fans doing the same to the Aussies players the next time they tour India.When the Aussie batsmen couldn't play Bhajji,probably Aussie media felt that they could help them by targeting Bhajji with some absolute trash.When you see placards saying "Symonds,Hyderabad welcomes you" at one end and the hostile behavior of the Aussie crowd particularly towards Bhajji,would leave you wondering how immature they are?

4) Hayden having a go at Bhajji and Ishant.This was ridiculous,if bhajji is an "obnoxious little weed", then what should the Aussie team be called "Obnoxious big and fat weeds"??.They have neither decency nor the manners.(Clarke showed today how well mannered he is, when he just pinned down Sachin in an attempt to field the bowl and not even bothered to apologize,well probably he has learned from Ponting who has done a similar feet back in 1998).

If we list all the controversies than this would be a never ending post.But at the end of all..with their on field as well as off field behavior,Aussies have just made us hate them.But Indians showed exemplary character by simply letting their on field performances do the talk unlike their counterparts.

Dedicated to sports

Every time i am free i feel like blogging but cant get a topic and from what i have blogged .. it looks like i blog only on sports topics..

Also considering the fact that i get the urge to blog only on sports related news, i decided to dedicate this blog for sports

P.S: though i know that its a bit too much to use the words "dedicated" and all..hehe bear with me..

Sunday, January 27, 2008

Gilly will be missed


"Adam Gilchrist is one of the greatest entertainers ever to grace a cricket ground anywhere in the world. You know when he enters the ground to bat you are about to see a show. Even when he gets out early it is usually doing something flashy. The cricket world will be poorer for his retirement but it has been richer for having been able to witness his awesome skill with both bat and gloves"

-- was what the much acclaimed cricket writer Peter Roebuck had to say about Gilchrist,the best wicket-keeper batsman.The gentleman cricketer has announced his retirement from the international cricket in all forms of the game after the end of the forthcoming CB series.

Wicket-keepers were traditionally, players who could score a workmanlike 30-40 odd runs apart from their prime duty.But all this changed with the entry of a player who has not only changed the way cricketing teams around the world looked at their wicket-keeper batsmen,but his debut has brought a whole new breed of cricketers who apart from keeping the wickets could also contribute handsomely with the bat.Adam Gilchrist has revolutionized the cricket as no other player had in the recent past.

He is a swash-buckling and flamboyant batsman apart from being a very able keeper .Though he was jeered and booed on the debut for replacing the great Ian Healy, with his nimble glove work behind the wickets and some very crucial innings that had turned the matches on its head he had turned them to applause and admiration.He is certainly the best wicket-keeper batsmen.The very fact that people now talk of wicket-keeper batsman and not about wicket-keepers as was before Gilly entered the international arena speaks volumes about impact this great player had on cricket.

He was very much instrumental in Australia's reign at the top since the last decade as he made it look as if Aussies were playing with 12 men all the time with Gilly the batsman/the keeper making up for that extra player.His flamboyant and aggressive batting meant that Aussies scored fast and put the opposition on the back foot.He attacked with such flair that it demoralized the opposition, and is the best example for the theory that "Attack is the best Defense".

He is one of the three players to be a part of the team that won the last three world cups and he did his bit in securing the win with fine half centuries in the 1999 and 2003 finals and golf ball-handedly turning the match in 2007 final with a fine century.He is the only wicket keeper all rounder, performing incredibly both with the bat and gloves and would easily find a place in the pantheon of the great all rounders.

CB series would be the last time we can get a glimpse of those swashbuckling shots or those acrobatic takes behind the wickets which could turn the tide of the match, but as correctly said his departure would make the cricketing world poorer but it has already been enriched by his batting and glove work.

Thursday, December 21, 2006

Sreesanth...Drogba and ....

This week has been the most peaceful week @IITM.. No work to do,no assignments to be submitted and nothing.Most of the time was spent either watching cricket or playing FIFA and what a week it has been.It has been a wonderful week for cricket,in fact in the past couple of weeks cricketing action is at its best with all the ongoing series in various parts of the world.The best moments of the week being sreesanth's hip gyrations after hoisting Nel for a six and Drogba's long range goal against Everton.

The cricketing moment of the year would certainly be the duel between Andre Nel and Sreesanth.After bowling a short ball which Sreesanth tried to work on the offside and was played and missed Nel comes down the pitch and sledges pointing his chest indicating that he needs to show heart.what followed next was indeed the moment of the match,Sreesanth comes down the pitch and hoists Nel for a six straight down the ground and does a break dance.The whole scene was hilarious and had us all in the CR in hysterics.
India badly needed a win after their serious drubbing in one dayer's at the hands of a better SA team.Comeback they did and in a great style.They showed commitment and above all team spirit.Sreesanth being the 'man of the match' and the 'man to watch'.Ganguly and Laxman played crucial knocks to put a decent total in both innings respectively along with the lower order.Bowling was what did the South Africans.Our bowlers were right on target and didn't let the batsmen any time to settle down.Sreesanth was unbelievable, his seam and wrist position perfect and hitting the deck straight away,havent seen an Indian bowler bowl so beautifully in ages.He was backed perfectly by Zaheer who kept the pressure at the other end.Kumble was his old self getting wickets when the captian wanted the most.Overall it was very refreshing to see India win a match and that too in a convincing way.The first victory on SA soil should be a huge morale booster for the team and i hope they go on to win the series.

Not to mention the ongoing Ashes and SL Vs NZ series.Its been years since i saw so much cricketing action and quite deservedly i am very happy[:D] and looking forward for the rest of cricketing action this year.I hope i wont be disappointed.

And last but not least about Drogba's winning goal against Everton.Chelsea were 2-1 down by 80 min.Lampard equalized with a long range shot in 81st min and both the teams went for the deciding goal that would win the match for them.Drogba shot a volley from 40 yards straight into net leaving everyone shell shocked.Everyone thought that the match was bound to end in a draw but the sheer brilliance of Drogba led Chelsea to victory.Dudes try to see that goal.. its simply one of the best goals in recent past.

P.S: Steve Harmison announces retirement from ODI's..who's next??

Wednesday, December 20, 2006

Hail warnie!!

This month has seen a flurry of activities in cricket..some have helped me restore my lost interest and the other things have left me astonished.The ongoing 3 test series around-The Ashes,Ind Vs SA and SL Vs NZ have rekindled my love for cricket.All of them were a treat for a cricket connoisseur.India at last won a match after a very bad phase as i should say(after a morale shattering 4-0 loss of India in one dayer's)-their first victory on SA soil and coincidentally India's first test victory against SA in SA.The Ashes has once again proved why Aussies are reigning world champions.The old warhorses- Shane and McGrath(coming back after a nearly one year break from cricket) proved that they are still too much to handle for the England batsmen.The series seems to be heading for a 5-0 finish and i hope it ends that way as it would be a fitting farewell to one of all time greats of cricket.Shane Keith Warne , announced his retirement from all forms of game earlier this morning except that he will play for Hampshire to see out his contract with the county club.Coming to retirements Australian cricket saw one of their best batsmen bid adieu to the game this month.Damien Martyn announced his retirement after the second ashes test as he wanted to go out on his own terms instead of being left out of the squad.He is the technically best batsmen Cricket Australia has produced after Mark Waugh.He was a treat to watch when he was stroking the ball freely.And it is believed that McGrath is to follow suit.That makes this Ashes series even more worth watching.This would be the last chance to watch these champion bowlers in action.The future generations would only read that there used to be a bowler who could be called a precision machine.McGrath, the third highest wicket taker in test cricket is well known not for his pace but for the nagging line and length.With Lehman retiring last year,it seems like the Golden era of Aussie cricket is at its end with many of its best players about to make way for the new guys.I guess the World cup next year would be the last stop for many great players who have taken the game to the highest level.Brian Charles Lara,Shane Warne,McGrath,Anil Kumble(probably),Inzamam.... all these players were great artists of the game and surely they cannot be replaced.No one can match the elegance and artistry of these players.I wont miss any match hence forth or else i would be ruing for my entire life not being able to see these great performers live in action.

But one thing is for sure...We will miss them!!!